Distinguish between the layers in ArchiMate using Notational Cues

In addition to the colors, other notational cues can be used to distinguish between the layers of the framework in ArchiMate. A letter ‘M’, ‘S’, ‘B’, ‘A’, ‘T’, ‘P’, or ‘I’ in the top-left corner of an element can be used to denote a Motivation, Strategy, Business, Application, Technology, Physical, or Implementation & Migration element, respectively.

An example of this notation is depicted in Example below:

Shape Convention in ArchiMate

The standard notation also uses a convention with the shape of the corners of its symbols for different element types, as follows:

•  Square corners are used to denote structure elements.

•  Round corners are used to denote behavior elements.

•  Diagonal corners are used to denote motivation elements.

Related Resources



Turn every software project into a successful one.

Try Visual Paradigm for Free! Or learn more about our features.

Leave a Reply