Chapter 31. TOGAF ADM Guide-Through

  1. Home
  2. Docs
  3. Chapter 31. TOGAF ADM Guide-Through
  4. 3. Preliminary Phase
  5. Architecture Repository

Architecture Repository

Download PDF

This document describes the TOGAF Architecture Repository.

Overview of Architecture Repository

Architecture Repository Overview

Throughout the development of architecture a huge volume of architectural output will be created. These output will be used as references in completing the other part of the development phases, or as inputs of future architecture development activities. Effective management and leverage of these architectural work products require a formal taxonomy for different types of architectural asset alongside with dedicated processes and tools for architectural content storage.

The Architecture Repository acts as a holding area for all architectural assets within an enterprise. It allows project team to manage deliverables and locate re-usable assets in a systematic way.

At a high level, six classes of architectural information are expected to be held within an Architecture Repository:

Class Description
Architecture Metamodel Describes the organizationally tailored application of an architecture framework, including a method for architecture development and a metamodel for architecture content.
Architecture Capability Defines the parameters, structures, and processes that support governance of the Architecture Repository.
Architecture Landscape Presents an architectural representation of assets in use, or planned, by the enterprise at particular points in time.
Standards Information Base Captures the standards of which new architectures must comply, it may include industry standards, selected products and services from suppliers, or shared services already deployed within the organization.
Reference Library Provides guidelines, templates, patterns, and other forms of reference material that can be leveraged in order to accelerate the creation of new architectures for the enterprise.
Governance Log Provides a record of governance activity across the enterprise.

The list below categorizes typical architectural information into the six classes.

The Architecture Metamodel 

  • The Architecture Content Metamodel (i.e. categories of building blocks, as defined for the organization)
  • The set of artifacts (or viewpoints) as defined for the organization
  • The set of deliverables
  • The method for architecture development

The Architecture Capability

  • The management and development of the enabling capabilities (including training and certification of the architects, management and development of the Enterprise Continuum, development of new processes, etc.)
  • Demand management and monitor of request for changes
  • The development of new architectures

The Architecture Landscape

  • Strategic architectures: show a long-term summary of the entire enterprise. This view is used at the executive level for setting directions.
  • Segment architectures: showing operating models for areas within an enterprise (business functions, business services, process models). This view is used at the portfolio management level for supporting planning.
  • Capability architectures: detailed models of building blocks, describing the units of capability (application component models, data element models, technology component models). This view is used for defining the work packages.

The Standards Information Base

  • Legal and regulatory obligations
  • Industry’s standards
  • Organizational standards

The Reference Library

  • Foundation architectures
  • Common systems architectures
  • Industry architectures
  • Organization specific architectures (developed in previous engagements and re-worked for later reuse)

The Governance Log

  • Decision log
  • Compliance assessments
  • Capability assessments
  • Calendar
  • Project portfolio
  • Performance measurement

Architecture and TOGAF

Architecture and TOGAF

Relating Architecture Repository Framework with others

TOGAF describes the structure and content of the repository areas that hold the output of projects, namely the Architecture Landscape, the Reference Library, the Standards Information Base, and the Governance Log. Let’s review different class of architecture information and the interrelationships.

Architecture Continuum

The Architecture Continuum can be viewed as a Reference Library classification scheme. As it illustrates how reference architectures can be organized across a range – from Foundation Architectures, and Industry-Specific Architectures, to an Organization-Specific Architecture.

Architecture Landscape

In a typical enterprise, many architectures will be described in the Architecture Landscape at any given point in time. Some architecture will address very specific needs; others will be more general. Some will address detail; some will provide a big picture. To address this complexity TOGAF uses the concept of levels and the Enterprise Continuum to provide a conceptual framework for organizing the Architecture Landscape.

Relationships between Deliverables and Architecture Repository

Deliverables represent the output of projects and those deliverables that are in documentation form will typically be archived at completion of a project, or transitioned into an Architecture Repository as a reference model, standard, or snapshot of the Architecture Landscape at some point.

Step 1: Deposit Required Files into Architecture Repository

The Architecture Repository acts as a holding area for all architectural assets within an enterprise. If you have any reference documents you can add them now into the Architecture Repository. Open the Architecture Repository, double click on the corresponding boxes (known as drawers) and add your files into them. Alternatively, drag file(s) directly into a drawer.

Storing files into Architecture Repository